my cart
Subtotal: 0,00€
Delivery in 24 hours
Delivery in 24 hours
<<  Previous Page BLOG Next Page  >>

What are the weight categories in the UFC?

What are the weight categories in the UFC?

The UFC , the premier mixed martial arts (MMA) league in the world, organizes its fights in different weight categories to ensure fair and equitable competitions. This structuring allows the confrontations to be between athletes of similar size and weight, thus maximizing competitiveness and safety. Weight classes in the UFC are crucial for both fighters and fans, as they define the framework in which these epic battles take place.

UFC Weight Classes

The UFC has established a weight class system that includes both men's and women's divisions, spanning a wide range from flyweight to heavyweight. Each category has a defined weight limit, creating a balanced competitive environment. Athletes must meet these limits during the official weigh-in, one day before their bouts, to compete in their selected category.

Weight Strategies in the UFC

Selecting the correct weight class is a critical factor in a fighter's career, directly influencing their performance inside the octagon. Fighters often resort to weight-cutting techniques to reach the limit of their weight class, a practice that, while common, must be done under medical supervision to avoid health risks. This weight strategy can offer significant physical advantages during combat.

Weight Divisions in the UFC

The UFC organizes its fights in various weight classes, for both men and women, to ensure fair and equitable competition.

Male Weight Categories

  • Fly Weight: Up to 125 pounds (56.7 kg)
  • Bantamweight: Up to 135 pounds (61.2 kg)
  • Featherweight: Up to 145 pounds (65.8 kg)
  • Light Weight: Up to 155 lbs (70.3 kg)
  • Welterweight: Up to 170 pounds (77.1 kg)
  • Average Weight: Up to 185 pounds (83.9 kg)
  • Light Heavyweight: Up to 205 pounds (93.0 kg)
  • Heavy Weight: Up to 265 lbs (120.2 kg)

Women's Weight Categories

  • Straw Weight: Up to 115 pounds (52.2 kg)
  • Fly Weight: Up to 125 pounds (56.7 kg)
  • Bantamweight: Up to 135 pounds (61.2 kg)
  • Featherweight: Up to 145 pounds (65.8 kg)

These divisions allow competitions between athletes of comparable strength and size, ensuring integrity and fairness in each bout. The UFC oversees these categories with strict regulations to keep athletes safe and competitive.

Champions in Multiple Categories

Some elite fighters in the UFC have accomplished the feat of winning titles in multiple weight classes, a feat that demonstrates their versatility and mastery in the art of MMA. Conor McGregor was the first to reach this milestone, highlighting the possibility of competing and succeeding in different divisions. However, there are currently no champions who hold titles in two categories simultaneously.

Weight classes in the UFC not only structure the competition, but also add a strategic layer to the sport, where fighters must carefully consider their physical and tactical preparation. This weight classification system is essential to maintain competitive balance and guarantee the spectacle in one of the most exciting combat sports in the world.


  • General conditions
  • Cookies Policy
  • Legal Advice
  • Privacy Policy
  • Shipping & Returns
  • Payment Methods
  • Discount for loyalty
  • Sitemap


Remember me

new record
By creating an account you can make purchases quickly check the status of your orders and view your previous operations.
Create new account